06 December, 2012

Where else can pocketmod playbooks go?

My wife is a leader for Girl Guides, and while she was running an afternoon session yesterday, I was waiting for her in the car with laptop powered up and no internet connection.

As I tend to do in situations such as thee, I started working away at ideas. Sometimes for novels, sometimes for games, other times I sketch up images. I'm still thinking about the potential within the "Pocketmod Playbook" concept, so that's naturally where my thoughts drifted.

This is starting to drift away from the core concept of a simple game within a single pocketmod, but I think  it's still got some of the tiny game ethos about it.

Thus, I present a fragment of an idea...

Heaven and Hell

Pure Angel – Those who still follow the sacred word
(Primary: Light, Secondary: Non-Dark)
Fallen (but repentant) Angel – Those who joined the rebels but still hear the word
(Primary: Non-Dark, Secondary: Light)
Fallen (unrepentant) Angel – Those who rebelled but have not completely turned against the word
(Primary: Non-Light, Secondary: Dark)
Demon – Those who actively despise the word
(Primary: Dark, Secondary: Non-Light)
Saint – Mortals who have passed and who have returned with the sacred word
(Primary: Non-Dark, Secondary: Light)
Bodhisattva – Those who have come to an awareness by their own thoughts and deeds
(Primary: Any, Secondary: Non-Dark)
Spirit of Nature – Those aligned to the cycles of life and death
(Primary: Non-Dark/Light, Secondary: Non-Dark/Light)
Demigod – Children of Mortals and Gods
(Primary: Any, Secondary: Dark/Light)
Avatar – Fragments of Gods made flesh in the world
(Primary: Any, Secondary: dark/Light)
Reborn – Those who have passed to the other side and returned through darker means
(Primary: Non-Light, Secondary: Any)
Old One – Those who have manifest from realms that should not be
(Primary: Dark, Secondary: Any)

Elements: Light, Dark, Air, Earth, Fire, Water
(A character circles relevant elements as primary and secondary [yes they can both be the same for a truly focused character]. Different Caste booklets provide different elemental options, Different mundane booklets provide different bonuses depending on the element(s) chosen).

All of the characters are charged with missions in the mundane world, sometimes these missions bring them into conflict with one another, and sometimes they force strange alliances between groups that might normally be enemies.

Characters gain prestige from their factions by completing their missions, they gain experience only used to by these powers (and a range of standard abilities).

All characters are defined by 2 books, one indicating their occupation in the mundane world and one indicating their caste within the grand order of things. Both of these books contain a range of powers and abilities, players may advance along either of their booklet lines at any time with their experience points. Characters may learn abilities from other mundane world booklets with no penalty, but they may abilities and powers from other caste books if they are willing to sacrifice a permanent point of their status.

Any may choose to sacrifice status to learn occult arts as an additional booklet. These occult booklets have required traits (typically three traits, a character must possess two of these to start learning the art, and must possess all three if they wish to learn the most powerful arcane powers associated with the art). The traits will typically be “an elemental affinity”, “a mundane occupation”, a “belief” or a “sphere of influence”.

Alchemy, Blood-Magick, Divination, Dreaming, Elementalism, Enchantment, Fascination, Illusion, Kleptomancy, Lamentation, Mutation, Necromancy, Orgone, Psionics, Psychomancy, Shamanism, Sorcery, Soulcraft, Thaumaturgy, Theurgy, Voodoun
Post a Comment