06 September, 2017

#DIY30 #6

6. There are six kinds of vampires. Don’t be boring. 

The six vampire categories vary immensely depending on who you ask. Hunters often categorise them according to the best way to slay them, cryptozoological texts have categorised them according to their food sources, apothecaries often categorise them according to the powers they manifest (and therefore the powers that might be acquired by ingesting their powdered organs), while the vampires themselves have been known to stratify their number according to six stages of vampiric transcendence, or the six mythical progenitors who were said to be the first of their kind. A final method for categorising vampires derives from their chosen places of lodgings, but few people use that one. 

That makes six common types of categorisation, with six common variations in each. There may be other options, especially in the uncivilised and unexplored lands. 

When encountering a vampire, roll 6 six sided dice and allocate the results between the categories.

Table 1. Vulnerability
1. Impalement by Wood.
2. Sunlight
3. Garlic
4. Silver
5. Holy Water
6. Running Water

Table 2. Food Source
1. Human Blood
2. Living Flesh
3. Psychic Energy
4. Emotions
5. Bone Marrow
6. Chi (residual magic charge)

Table 3. Dominant Power
1. Animal Form
2. Hypnotism
3. Flight
4. Mist Form
5. Incredible Strength
6. Shadow Manipulation

Table 4. Transcendence Level
1. Half Vampire, requires vampiric blood to maintain powers (plus food source)
2. Ravenous Dead
3. Walking Dead
4. Dark Wanderer
5. Elder Vampire
6. Ancient Immortal

Table 5. Progenitor
1. Mr Saturday, Keeper of Dark Mysteries
2. Contessa Bathoria, Reaper of Virgins
3. Duke Draconis, Heretic and Impaler
4. Anansi, Weaver of Shadows
5. Kun Shou, Alchemical Immortal
6. Hela, Queen of the Eternal Waste

Table 6. Lodgings
1. Graveyard Mausoleum
2. Deserted Temple
3. Ancient Castle
4. Swamp Hut
5. Desolated House
6. Abandoned Church

No comments: